Ifilm App Android
فارسی عربي

Iranian critics, screenwriters pick ‘Atabai’ as best film

The 14th Celebration of Iranian Cinema Critics and Screenwriters picks ‘Atabai’ as best film.

The 14th edition of the Celebration of Iranian Cinema Critics and Screenwriters has picked ‘Atabai’ as the best film of the year.

Directed by Niki Karimi, ‘Atabai’ received the award for the best director.

Written by Hadi Hejazifar, the film also won the best screenplay award. Hejazifar stars as Kazem in the drama, as well.

Hejazifar’s co-star, Javad Ezzati won the award for the best supporting actor, and the award for the best music went to Hossein Alizadeh for ‘Atabai’.

The movie takes us into a world of tradition, hopes and expectations.

Kazem returns from a business trip to discover that his brother-in-law has sold his orchard to a stranger, Shirazi. Kazem finds himself falling in love with Shirazi’s daughter but first must face his past.

With its intertwined use of Azerbaijani and Farsi languages, alongside the fabulous landscapes in northwest of Iran, the film brings a fresh perspective to Iranian cinema and seeks to build bridges between generations and communities.

The award for best directorial debut was presented to ‘The Skin’ directed by Bahram and Bahman Ark.

In ‘The Skin’, a young man named Araz seeks to marry his true love, but his mother, a sorceress, has cast a spell to keep her son with her.

The closer he gets to his beloved, the weaker his mother becomes. He seeks to break the spell with the help of an itinerant musician and a mysterious recluse with access to the spirit world. 

Saeed Aqakhani won the award for the best actor for his role in ‘There Was Blood’ directed by Masoud Kimyaee, the award for the best actress went to Elnaz Shakerdoust for her role in ‘Titi’ by Ida Panahandeh, and Baran Kosari received the award for the best supporting actress for her roles in ‘Popular’ by Soheil Beiraqi and ‘The Majority’ by Mohsen Qaraee.

Meisam Molaee received the best film editor award for ‘Zero Day’ directed by Saeed Malekan, while the awards for best sound engineer and best sound effects were presented to Amir-Hossein Qasemi and Rashid Daneshmand for ‘Zalava’.

The best technical achievement award was presented to set designer Morteza Farbod and costume designer Maral Jeirani, and the award for the best cinematographer went to Morteza Najafi, all for ‘Tooman’.

Winners of the annual event were announced during a press release on Saturday as the organizers canceled their party due to the country’s condition.

The Society for Cinema Critics and Screenwriters is the organizer of the celebration, which was canceled in 2021 due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Read more:

Fajr fest ‘Atabai’ goes behind-the-scenes

Official trailer for ‘Atabai’ released